My Favorite Neighbor, In Memory of Mr. Rogers

June 17, 2007 at 1:24 am Leave a comment

The handout with answers can be found here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/104736/My-Favorite-Neighbor

I grew up in America in the late 80’s and early 90’s. During those times, there were many children’s television programs that were really fun to watch. Sesame Street and Barney were imaginative and creative. However, these shows never reached out to me in that I never felt the characters cared about me. Even though Barney seemed to love lots of people, it’s difficult to relate to the love of a giant purple dinosaur.

Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood was a show set apart from any other. Every time Mr. Rogers appeared on the television, I felt like I was visiting a friend’s house. He invited me to spend time with him as his neighbor, and would show me cool things that friends would share with each other. Always friendly, and always encouraging, he told me I was special for just being me, and that he liked me for who I was. I grew up in his neighborhood, and I always felt welcome.

Mr Rogers Neighborhood Opening

I always wondered though, why did he use that word neighbor? Every show began with him singing, “Won’t you be my neighbor? 🙂 ”

Perhaps this is the reason: Luke 10:27- [Jesus] answered: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ ; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”

Mr. Rogers was a Christian. He originally was set to be a minister, but he decided that he wanted to go into television and create a show that would help children feel special. His show delivered a message of grace and love, and children from all across the country watched his program.

Thinking back, I feel that Mr. Rogers truly reflected the love of Jesus Christ. Jesus is God the Son, and He loves us very much, cares for us very much, and loves us just the way we are. Even though we are sinners, Jesus loves us so much that “while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8).

Although Jesus loves us the way we are, this does not mean we should continue sinning. Sin separates us from God, and Jesus died for us so that our sins could be forgiven as long as we choose to believe and trust in Him. He died for us so that we could become friends with God as long as we trust in Jesus. Would you like to have a friend who will always be there for you? Mr. Rogers will not always be around to be our neighbor, but Jesus is willing to be with you as long as you choose to believe in Him and ask Him for forgiveness of sins.

I was saddened to hear the news when he passed away in the year of 2003, and I’m sure many children who grew up watching his show feel the same way. Even though he has now passed away, I’ll always feel that he was my lifelong friend.

Tribute to Mr. Rogers

I am thankful to God that there are Christians like Mr. Rogers. He continues to be such an inspiration to me, and I only hope I could be a loving neighbor to people as he was to millions of children across the country. I look forward to seeing you again someday, Mr. Rogers. 🙂

More Videos

Mr. Rogers’ Goodbye

Mr. Rogers receives the Lifetime Achievement Award

Entry filed under: 1- Walk Walk Sunday, Bible, Blog, Christian, Christianity, Culture, Design, Education, Entertainment, Faith, Friends, Fun, God, Internet, Jesus, Life, Media, Miscellaneous, Movies, People, Relationships, Religion, School, Technology, Thoughts.

A slight delay… Meal #202 – Who is the Greatest?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RECENT POSTS

CALENDAR

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

ARCHIVES

Map of Visitors

Copyright

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise expressly stated, all original material of whatever nature created by Abraham Walkthewok and included in the Walk the Wok WordPress weblog and any related pages, including the weblog's archives, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.

Creative Commons License

Scripture taken from the New King James Version. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.


